Sunday, June 12, 2022

AK Special Primary Update

Alaska's 48 Candidate Special Election Primary, is the First one held under Alaska's new Top-Four Primary system, which Voters Approved in 2020. They are vying for the Seat left Vacant by the death in March, of U.S. Rep. Don Young (R). Young held the Seat for 49 years.

Under the New system, Candidates from All Parties run on the same Primary Ballots. The top Four will advance to a Special General Election on August 16th, that will be held using Ranked-Choice-Voting (RCV).

The Winner of the Special Election will serve out the remainder of Young's Term until January 2023.

Young, a fierce Advocate for Alaska, spent his nearly Five decades representing the State in Congress directing Federal Money back home and becoming a Master of the Congressional Earmarks process, allowing him to allocate millions for Infrastructure and other Key projects in Alaska.

The current Leading Four Candidate are:

1 - Former Governor and 2008 GOP Vice Presidential nominee Sarah Palin (R), backed by Trump.

2 - Nick Begich III (R), who is backed by the State Republican Party

3 - State Sen. Josh Revak (R-District M), who has the endorsement of Young's widow. His current Term ends on January 17, 2023.

4 - Mary Peltola (D), is a Yup’ik Eskimo, Representative of the Bethel Region for 10 years.

NYC Wins When Everyone Can Vote! Michael H. Drucker

No comments: