Sunday, February 27, 2022

Nordic Countries To Shut Airspace To Russian Planes

Denmark, Finland, and Sweden, said they were preparing to Close their Airspace to Russian Planes on Sunday, joining a string of European Countries taking this Measure after Russia's Invasion of Ukraine.

The moves follow similar Closures of Airspace of: Britain, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Poland, and Romania, to Russia's Aircraft.

Baltic Countries: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, are also Closing their Airspace to Russian Airliners, while Germany said it was preparing to do so.

Italy and the Netherlands also announced, on Sunday, that they were joining the List.

Iceland has also decided to Shut its Airspace to Russian Air Traffic, Icelandic Foreign Minister, Thordis Kolbrun Gylfadottir, tweeted on Sunday.

"It is now absolutely necessary to proceed with further touch measures to isolate Russia," Swedish EU Minister, Hans Dahlgren, told Public Service Radio SR.

A European Union (EU)-wide Ban for Russian Flights, could be part of a Fresh Package of Sanctions on Moscow, to be discussed later on Sunday, by the Bloc's Foreign Ministers, an EU Official said separately.

Russia's likely Countermeasure will heavily hurt Finland's State Carrier Finnair. "If Russia in parallel closes its airspace from Finnish aircrafts, it would have a significant impact on Finnair as our Asian traffic would in practice come to a standstill," Finnair Spokeswoman said. "Going around Russian airspace prolongs flight times so much that it would not be financially possible to operate our Asian flights," she said.

NYC Wins When Everyone Can Vote! Michael H. Drucker

No comments: