Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Special Election 1/11/2022 Returns From FL ME MA VA

Florida’s 20th Congressional District

The Congressional Seat in Florida’s 20th District, became vacant back in April 2021, following the death of Alcee Hastings (D) who had represented the District since 1993.

The Democratic Primary for this District gave us perhaps the Closest Race. Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick won the Nomination over second-place finisher Dale Holness by just Five Votes after a Recount and Court Challenges.

The Special Election will likely not be as Close, as the District, which covers much of Broward and Palm Beach Counties, is a Safe Democratic District.

Running against Cherfilus-McCormick is Republican Jason Mariner (R) who also emerged from a Contentious November Primary.

Also running on the Ballot are a Libertarian Candidate, and Two Indpendent Candidates.

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick won.

Maine's State House 27th District

A Special Election will determine who fills a Seat, in the Maine House of Representatives, that covers part of Gorham and Scarborough.

The Three-Way Race. fills a Vacancy left by Rep. Kyle Bailey (D), who Resigned in October, to Lead a State Campaign seeking to Prohibit Foreign Governments from Electioneering in Ballot Campaigns.

Democrats have nominated Jim Boyle, a former State Senator, who Lost his Seat in 2014, and briefly ran for Governor.

Republicans have picked Timothy Thorse.

Suzanne Phillips is running as an Independent Candidate.

Jim Boyle won.

Massachusetts Senate's 1st Suffolk and Middlesex Districts

The Special State Election was held in Cambridge Precincts, to fill the Vacancy caused by the Resignation of Joseph A. Boncore (D). He Resigned in September 2021, to become CEO of the Massachusetts Biotechnology Council.

Lydia Edwards won the Democratic Primary. She will be the Only Candidate named on the Ballot, as No Republicans or Others entered the Race. While there could be Write-In Votes, Edwards is all but certain to be Elected.

Virgina Assembly's 89th District

It was last Represented by Jerrauld Jones (D). He is currently a Judge of the Norfolk Circuit Court.

Jackie Glass (D) has been declared the Winner of the Special Election.

Glass easily Defeated Giovanni Dolmo (R), winning 75% of the Vote to his 24%. That's with 23 out of 24 Precincts reporting.

NYC Wins When Everyone Can Vote! Michael H. Drucker

No comments: