Tuesday, February 4, 2020

NY Redistricting Advisory Commission Members Names Update

New York Legislative Leaders began naming their Members of the New State Redistricting Advisory Commission late last week.

The Commission's 8 Legislative Appointees will Meet to Appoint Two Additional Independent Members. Work begins in 2021.

Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart Cousins (D-35th District) Appointed:

John Flateau, Ph.D. a Professor and Chair of the Department of Business Administration at the School of Business, Medgar Evers College, CUNY. He holds over Two Decades of Experience working as Commissioner and Census Coordinator for New York State and the U.S. Census Bureau, and previously served as Chief of Staff to New York City Mayor David N. Dinkins. John Flateau earned his Ph.D. focused in Political Science and Government from City University of New York.

David Imamura, an Attorney at Debevoise & Plimpton where his practice focuses on Regulatory Investigations and Civil Litigation. He is a Co-Author of Goldfeder’s Modern Election Law (6th edition), currently serves as a Member of the Westchester County Human Rights Commission and the Westchester County Complete Count Committee.

House Speaker Carl Heastie (D-83rd District) Appointed:

Elaine Frazier, a lifelong Public Servant with over 30 years of service in the New York State Legislature, Division of the Budget, Office of the State Comptroller, and her Alma Mater, SUNY College at Old Westbury. Since her Retirement, she has volunteered as a Member of the Juvenile Community Accountability Board, and in 2012, was a Member of the City of Albany Commission on Redistricting. Currently. She serves as Board Chair of the Capital Area Urban League, a Member of the Albany Task Force on Minority Health Disparities, and a Member of the Commission on Transportation’s Equity Task Force.

Eugene Benger, a Counsel at Debevoise & Plimpton LLP. Prior to joining the Firm, he served as General Counsel for Insurance in the New York Department of Financial Services and in Various Roles with the Former New York Insurance Department. He also served as Counsel to the Commission to Modernize the Regulation of Financial Services and as an Assistant Attorney General in the Litigation Bureau of the New York State Office of the Attorney General.

Senate Minority Leader John Flanagan (R-2nd District) Appointed:

George H. Winner, Jr., who collectively served in the State Assembly and Senate for 32 years.

Ed Lurie, the Former Executive Director of the New York Republican State Committee and the New York Senate Republican Committee.

Assembly Minority Leader William Barclay (R-120th District) Appointed:

Charles Nesbitt, a Former Assembly Minority Leader. Nesbitt, an Albion Resident, was First Elected to the State Assembly in 1992 and served as its Minority Leader from 2002 to 2005. He Represented the 137th Assembly District, which is now the 139th District, serving parts of Orleans, Niagara, Genesee, and Monroe counties. He also served as President of the New York Tax Appeals Tribunal in 2005 and as a Councilman in Albion.

Keith Wofford, an Attorney and 2018 Candidate for State Attorney General. Wofford, a New York City Resident, Specializes in Bankruptcy and Financial Cases as the Co-Managing Partner of Ropes & Gray, LLP in New York City. He also Ran on the Republican and Conservative Lines for Attorney General in 2018.

NYC Wins When Everyone Can Vote! Michael H. Drucker

No comments: