Wednesday, February 8, 2017

New Organization Launches Let America Vote to Fight Voter Suppression Laws

Jason Kander today launched Let America Vote, an organization dedicated to winning the Public Debate over Voter Suppression in the United States.

For several years, challenges to Voter Suppression efforts have taken place almost exclusively in Courts of Law.

“Voting in our country has never been easy, and unfortunately it’s never been guaranteed for everyone,” Kander said. “But through the work of brave civil rights leaders, some of whom died for the cause, in the early 2000s we got to a point where most, but still not all, people who wanted to vote could do so. Today, that progress is in danger as laws targeting low-income and minority voters continue popping up across the country. Let America Vote will make the case for voting rights by exposing the real motivations of those who favor voter suppression laws. For the first time, politicians intent on denying certain Americans the right to vote will first have to consider the political consequences.”

Let America Vote, a 527 organization, will also team up with Groups that share the Mission of preventing Voter Suppression. iVote President Ellen Kurz will join Let America Vote as a Member of the Board, and Kander will join iVote's Board. Kander will also be joining the Board of Priorities USA in support of Every Citizen Counts, their initiative focused on Voting Rights Litigation and Statehouse Lobbying. Priorities Chairman Guy Cecil will serve on Let America Vote's Board.

With the launch of Let America Vote, the fight expands to the Court of Public Opinion.

Kander is joined by a Board of Advisors Committed to Voting Rights, including:

- Human Rights Activist Martin Luther King III

- Planned Parenthood Action Fund President Cecile Richards

- Former White House Press Secretary Josh Earnest

- Voting Rights and Election Attorney Marc Elias

The 27 Members of the Board of Advisors bring diverse experience in Advocacy, Public Policy, and Grassroots Organizing to the Let America Vote team.

Let America Vote Advisory Board:

Stacey Abrams, Minority Leader, Georgia House of Representatives
Jeramey Anderson, Mississippi State Representative
Eli Attie, former Chief Speechwriter to Vice President Gore
Andy Berke, Mayor of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Guy Cecil, Chairman of Priorities USA
Janet Cruz, Minority Leader, Florida House of Representatives
Josh Earnest, former White House Press Secretary under President Obama
Marc Elias, Voting Rights and Election Lawyer, Chair of Perkins Coie's Political Law Group
Jon Favreau, former Chief Speechwriter to President Obama
Lucy Flores, former Nevada Assemblywoman
Jerry H. Goldfeder, Election Law and Voting Rights Attorney; Adjunct Professor, Fordham Law School and Penn Law School
Christine Greig, Democratic Floor Leader, Michigan House of Representatives
Gerry Hebert, former DOJ official on Voting Rights and Solo Practitioner
Eric Johnson, Texas State Representative
Martin Luther King III, Human Rights Activist
Ellen Kurz, Founder and President of iVote
Linda McCulloch, former Montana Secretary of State
Susana Mendoza, Comptroller of Illinois
Denise Merrill, Connecticut Secretary of State
Dan Pfeiffer, former Senior Advisor to President Obama
Cecile Richards, President of Planned Parenthood Action Fund
Rebecca Rios, Minority Leader, Arizona House of Representatives
Stephanie Schriock, President of EMILY’s List
Bakari Sellers, former South Carolina State Representative
Zephyr Teachout, Law Professor and Activist
Bradley Whitford, Actor and Activist
Rev. Starsky D. Wilson, President & CEO of Deaconess Foundation, Co-chair of The Ferguson Commission

CLICK HERE for more information about Let America Vote.

NYC Wins When Everyone Can Vote! Michael H. Drucker
Digg! StumbleUpon

No comments: